Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
Auto Repair Source [EBSCO] – covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ.
Academic Search Premier[EBSCO] – offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency. Videos relevant to the search terms appear in a carousel in the result list. With footage from 1930 to the present and updated monthly, this collection of more than 60,000 videos covers a wide variety of topics.
Canadian Encyclopedia –A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Canadian Points of View [EBSCO]– Containing resources that present multiple sides of a current issue—including information on key topics of interest to Canadian researchers—this database provides rich content that can help students realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.
Canadian Reference Centre [EBSCO] – Access “Canadian content” in domestic and international magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books. Also includes biographies and a large image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
eLibraries Manitoba – Download and listen to best selling and classic audio books 24/7 on your PC, laptop, PDA or MP3 player at home, in the office or anywhere in the world. It’s free, all you need is your library card.
Home Improvements Reference Center [EBSCO] – A definitive online tool for home improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc. This comprehensive resource contains over 25 major reference works in full text with more than 10,000 images. Additionally, the database contains full-text magazines.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
MasterFILE Premier[EBSCO] contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. It also includes an extensive image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps and flags.
MasterFile Reference eBook [EBSCO] – This eBook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.
Middle Search Plus [EBSCO] contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History and reference books such as the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and the Encyclopedia of Animals. Full-text magazines include Sports Illustrated Kids, Scholastic News, National Geographic and dozens more.
Middle Search Reference eBook Subscription [EBSCO] – Designed for middle school libraries, Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference e-books. Covering subjects such as history, current events, science and sports, it also includes thousands of primary source documents and videos from the Associated Press.
Newspaper Source Plus [EBSCO] – Newspaper Source Plus brings critical news content with ongoing updates throughout the day with its News View feature. Popular sources include: AP (Associated Press), CNN Wire, PR Wire, UPI (United Press International), and Xinhua (China).
NoveList Plus – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages.
Primary Search [EBSCO] – Provides students with encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. In addition, the database includes full-text popular magazines including those from Cricket Media, such as Ladybug and Spider. Other magazines include Highlights, Junior Scholastic and dozens more.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center [EBSCO] – Clymer manuals containing thousands of maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines. Routine maintenance and more extensive repairs for motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more are covered.
Teen Health & Wellness database – Real life… Real answers.